PDA

View Full Version : Extra supports at porkheed

skeltons-bluebells
18-12-2010, 11:00
Anyone got the picture showing the supports at parkhead when the games not on? Tarrier doesn't believe me that they use them

The Railway Bear
18-12-2010, 11:08
Before

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/3702/celtic32.jpg

After

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/5923/celticpark3.jpg

exilebear
18-12-2010, 11:15
Can anyone clarify why these supports are not required when a game is on?

johngreigloyal
18-12-2010, 11:55

Im sure its vibrations when the stand is occupied causing movement to the roof

Feel The Burn
18-12-2010, 11:58
that really is a shoite main stand, bwahahaha

InsanicDrunk
18-12-2010, 11:58

It's something to do with the weight of people in stand secures it, not 100% sure of the ins and outs.

warfieldranger
18-12-2010, 12:10
I'm a structural engineer and at my first company I noticed a model of a stand in the office one day, so I asked what it was for. My boss told me that he had been the expert witness in a court case where Celtic had sued the designer of the main stand.

The design company made a few mistakes, and after the stand was opened it was noticed that it swayed a lot in the wind. My boss was then commissioned to perform an independent design check of the stand. He found that under the design wind loading the stand was basically a mechanism if it was unoccupied, i.e. the empty stand would fall over if the wind speed got up to the figure that the stand should have been designed for, but during matches the fans would act as ballast to provide enough stability.

It was decided that props would be required to stabilise the whole thing but Celtic wanted to avoid restricted views from their brand new stand, so my boss reluctantly agreed that temporary props could be removed just before matches and reinstated after the crowd had gone home.

Dumfriesbear
18-12-2010, 12:13